建構課程大綱

開始之前

在深入探討您的課程之前,請考慮反向設計方法。首先定義您的學習目標,接著設計符合這些目標的課程章節、講座和練習活動。在我們的建立學習目標指南中瞭解更多有關建立學習目標的資訊。

構成良好學習體驗的條件為何?

最具影響力的課程具有良好的架構,並以條理分明且考慮周到的方式引導學習者瞭解主題。課程透過清楚的開頭、中段,以及結尾,協助學習者構建知識和自信。它們也納入了各種講座和練習機會,包括影片與文字講座測驗編碼練習作業練習測驗。 

整體來說,最好的方式是讓每個課堂章節只對應一個學習目標,而章節中應包含講授涵蓋相關概念的講座,以及可讓學習者實踐學習目標的練習機會。請不要在單一講座中涵蓋太多內容,保持簡明扼要,並專注於具體的主題和技能。

提示:建構課程時,請考慮模組化。有時候,學習者會尋找特定的技能或問題答案,且只對特定講座或甚至講座中的特定部分感興趣。課程組成要素的建立和標示方式是否能讓剛剛加入的學習者輕鬆找到所需的內容?

從課程大綱範本開始

使用我們建議的大綱範本開始您的課程設計。這項資源採用了學習設計的最佳實務,將有助於您有效地建構課程,為即將創建的學習旅程打下堅實的基礎。

建構您的課程大綱

將您的課程想成一個故事。它應由三個部分構成:開頭、中段,以及結尾,且其內容應以符合邏輯、清晰合理的方式建構知識和技能。此外,它應該也要適用於僅參加特定講座的學習者。 

課程介紹

課程開頭的目標在於激勵並吸引學習者,這些學習者很可能尚未決定您的課程是否適合他們。您的介紹可能會根據課程的總長度而長短不一,但最好不要超過 10 分鐘。請以下列方式開始您的課程:

  • 簡介講座:簡短明瞭即可,2-4 分鐘。介紹您自己,並且說明為什麼您是教授此課程的最佳人選。設定正確的期望值,讓學習者知道自己能從您的課程中學到什麼,以及他們在課程結束時能夠做什麼。
  • 說明講座:介紹您的課程主題,以及學習者理解課程概念所需的基礎。最好能提到學習者在理解課程中更進階的概念後,最終能夠擁有的成果。
  • 互動式活動:在課程的前幾堂講座中提供可讓學習進行互動的活動。這類活動可以是練習或是反思活動,是刺激學習者學習意願的好方法。

中段

這是課程的主要部分,您將在此階段教授主題內容,並且提供活動和評估項目,讓學習者進行練習並衡量自己學習的狀況。這部分課程應包含章節,其內容由講座、練習活動以及參考資料構成。每個章節、講座和練習活動都應符合一個具體的學習目標。

  • 章節:單一章節應集中探討單一學習目標。確保所有章節都相互關聯,以確實提供您在學習目標當中所承諾要涵蓋的所有技能。
  • 講座:各章節應根據需求納入適當數量的講座,以幫助學習者達成章節目標。請在每堂講座中僅涵蓋一個學習目標或概念,讓學習者能輕鬆地瀏覽課程。保持影片簡明扼要,理想長度為 3 至 6 分鐘,這種影片長度深受忙碌企業學習者的喜愛。對於技術性或複雜的主題,您可能需要拉長講座的時間。
  • 練習活動與評估項目:每個章節應包含至少一個練習活動或評估項目,讓學習者有機會實際運用他們學到的知識,並瞭解自己對於學習目標的達成度。這些活動對於有效學習至關重要,而 Udemy 的頂尖課程通常都會有豐富多樣的專案、練習活動、測驗等內容。查看我們的規劃練習活動和評估項目指南,瞭解更多相關內容。
  • 參考資料:不要忘記在每個章節中,註明您要加入的其他任何資源。這可能包括檢查清單、工作表、範本、視覺輔助工具、PDF 筆記、來源代碼和其他連結,視需求而定。

結論

以強而有力的結尾來結束您的課程,激勵學習者運用他們的學習成果學以致用。 

  • 最終講座:至少要包含結尾的祝賀講座,摘要式總結課程所帶來的關鍵收穫,並感謝學習者花時間參與,讓他們感覺學有所成。
  • 額外講座:您可選擇是否要在最終講座後提供一堂額外講座。您可以運用這個機會來行銷其他課程或產品,但請務必遵守我們的額外講座規則和指南

關鍵收穫

  • 使用我們的課程大綱範本,根據學習設計的最佳實務規劃您的課程。每個章節、講座和練習活動都應符合一個具體的學習目標。
  • 使用引人入勝的開場白和能立即與學習者互動的活動,來介紹自己和課程主題。
  • 一個概念、一個講座:單一講座中不要涵蓋太多資訊。保持簡單明瞭,協助學習者輕鬆找到您的課程並進行瀏覽。
  • 保持講座簡明扼要。許多學習者偏好簡短的講座,尤其是忙碌的企業學習者。
  • 不要忘記練習和資源。學習者需要練習和評估技能的機會,且通常會更喜歡提供練習活動的課程。 
  • 使用激勵人心的訊息來總結課程,鼓勵學習者出發並應用他們新習得的技能。

更多資源

準備好建立課程了嗎?開始吧!

建立課程

Outline your course

Before you begin

Before delving into your course, consider the Backward Design approach. Start with defining your learning objectives, and then design your course sections, lectures, and practice activities in alignment with these objectives. Learn more about creating learning objectives in our create your learning objectives guide.

What makes a good learning experience?

The most impactful courses are well-structured and guide learners through the subject matter in an organized and thoughtful way. They help learners build their knowledge and confidence with a clear beginning, middle, and end. And they incorporate a variety of lectures and practice opportunities, including video and text lectures, quizzes, coding exercises, assignments, and practice tests

In general, it’s best for each course section to align to a single learning objective and include lectures that cover the concepts and practice opportunities for learners to achieve those objectives. Don’t try to cover too much in a single lecture — keep them short, and stick with a specific topic, skill, or subject.

Tip: Consider modularity when structuring your course. Sometimes, learners will search for a certain skill or answer to a question and only be interested in a specific lecture or even a specific part of a lecture. Are your course components created and labeled such that a learner who’s just dropping in can easily find what they need?

Get started with course outline template

Kickstart your course design with our recommended outline template. This resource employs learning design best practices, and will help you structure your course effectively and lay a solid foundation for the learning journey you’re about to create.

Build your course outline

Think of your course as a story. It should have three parts — a beginning, a middle, and an end — that follow a logical flow that builds knowledge and skills in a way that is clear and makes sense. It should also work for learners who are just dropping for a specific lecture. 

Course Introduction

The goal at the beginning of your course is to motivate and hook your learners, who may still be deciding if your course is right for them. Your introduction may be longer or shorter depending on the total length of your course, but it’s probably best not to go over 10 minutes or so. Start your course with the following:

  • Intro lecture: Keep this short and simple, 2-4 minutes. Introduce yourself and explain why you are the best person to teach this course. Set the right expectations, tell the learners what they’ll learn from your course and what they’ll be able to do by the end of your course.
  • Instructional lectures: Introduce your course topic and the basic foundations learners will need to understand the concepts in your course. It’s a good idea to allude to what learners might eventually be able to achieve once they understand the more advanced concepts of your course.
  • Engagement activity: Engage learners right away by providing an activity within the first few lectures in your course. This could be an exercise or reflection activity and is a great way to motivate your learners.

The middle

This is the main part of your course, where you’ll teach the subject and provide activities and assessments for learners to practice and measure what they’re learning. This part of your course should include sections, consisting of lectures, practice activities, and reference materials. Each section, lecture, and practice activity should meet a specific learning objective.

  • Sections: Focus on covering one learning objective per section. Make sure all the sections build on each other to deliver on all the skills your course promises to address in your learning objectives.
  • Lectures: Each section should contain as many lectures as you need to help learners achieve the section objective. Stick to one learning objective or concept per lecture to make it easy for learners to navigate the course. Keep your videos short, ideally 3-6 minutes — this is especially preferred by busy enterprise learners. For technical or complicated topics you may need to make your lectures longer.
  • Practice activities and assessments: Include at least one practice activity or assessment per section, to give learners an opportunity to apply their learning and get a sense of how well they’re meeting the learning objectives. These activities are crucial for effective learning, and top courses on Udemy often have a rich mix of different projects, practice activities, quizzes and more. See our guide on planning your practice activities and assessments for more.
  • Reference materials: Don’t forget to note any additional resources you want to add in each section. This could include checklists, worksheets, templates, visual aids, PDF notes, source code, and additional links, as necessary.

The conclusion

End your course with a strong finish that leaves learners feeling motivated to apply their learning. 

  • Final lecture: At minimum include a congratulations lecture at the end that summarizes key takeaways from the course, thanks your learners for their time, and leaves them with a sense of accomplishment.
  • Bonus lecture: While optional, you can include a bonus lecture after your final lecture. You can use this to market other courses or products but please ensure you follow our rules and guidelines for bonus lectures.

Key Takeaways

  • Use our course outline template to map your course according to learning design best practices. Each section, lecture, and practice activity should meet a specific learning objective.
  • Introduce yourself and your topic with a good hook and an activity to engage your learners right away.
  • One concept, one lecture: don’t try to cover too much information in one lecture. Keep it simple to help make it easy for learners to find and navigate your course.
  • Keep lectures short. Many learners prefer shorter lectures, especially busy enterprise learners.
  • Don’t forget practice and resources. Learners need a chance to practice and assess their skills, and often prefer courses that offer practice over those that don’t. 
  • Wrap up your course with a motivating message for your learners to go out and apply their new skills.

More resources

Ready to create your course? Let's go!

Create a Course