2024 年 6 月講師情報站

您的 6 月講師情報站來了,這次帶來幾項好消息:我們推出了新功能、更多市集與訂閱的相關機會,也想特別邀請各位提供您鼓舞人心的精采故事。我們也會分享目前正在努力克服的挑戰。

我們的大目標,是在這個技能型經濟中,成為個人與組織消弭技能落差的首選,本期情報站的所有內容都是實現這個大目標的相關重要資訊。

在這一期的情報站中,我們根據資訊重要性為您整理成三個部分。

  • 讓您創作內容更輕鬆,盡情發揮所長。
  • 改善學習者探索與參與的體驗,引導他們找到您的課程、提升參與度
  • 吸引新的學習者使用 Udemy

首先,我們知道 AI 最近常出現在我們的話題中,也知道近來的科技進步為世界帶來許多改變。但我們仍致力於協助各位分享自身知識,這點並未改變。我們也為此訂定了一套 AI 原則,協助我們針對「要建立什麼」和「如何建立」做出適當決策,並用於因應來自我們講師社群的各位的問題和疑慮。我們的原則是基於幾個主要概念而建立:由您選擇是否參與、保護您的智慧財產權、將 AI 用於達成我們的使命,並確保各方都能從生成式 AI 中獲益。想要深入瞭解?請參閱我們的 AI 原則聲明全文

內容創作更輕鬆

促銷電子郵件與課程公告

現在傳送促銷電子郵件與課程公告時,可以看到每一封電子郵件與公告的點擊率。如此可助您優化訊息內容,瞭解什麼樣的內容最具效果。前往您的控制面板,查看此功能的實際運作情形。

文字轉語音課程

允許使用文字轉語音功能進行授課的課程有諸多優點,例如提升清晰度、促進本地化、增進普及性。因應各位的要求,也多虧科技的進步,現在我們開放文字轉語音授課功能。但,這些課程當然還是必須符合品質指南有關文字轉語音的更多討論,請參見社群。

課程設定講座

我們現在推出了課程前置準備講座 這項選擇,讓您簡單介紹參與您的課程所必備的資源。這些前置作業講座不得包含任何宣傳用語,但這代表學習者可以更輕鬆地立即取得修課必備工具的折扣。 

互動式學習

練習測驗廣受正在準備認證考試的學習者喜愛。這些全方位的計時評量能幫助他們為考試做好萬全準備。因此,我們近期推出一項練習測驗的全新建立體驗,其中包含眾多新功能。我們推出一種新的問題類型、運用生成式 AI 協助生成解釋 (僅限英語開發主題),也首次推出針對練習測驗的洞察分析這些新功能都能在您的控制面板上存取。我們持續進行整體改善工作,藉此擴大練習測驗洞察分析和參與報告的涵蓋層面。我們也編製了新的練習測驗建立指南

這項工作與我們近期的編碼練習體驗工作相互配合。此外,若您有教授 Kotlin 或 C++20 課程,那麼恭喜您,現在我們已支援這兩種程式語言。

Udemy Business 推薦內容

我們於 4 月推出 Udemy Business* 精選內容全新介面。Udemy Business 推薦內容的運作方式類似市場洞察分析,但旨在幫助您找出 Udemy Business 新課程的熱門主題。因此,若您想開設其他 Udemy Business 課程 (甚至是開設您的第一門課程),這項更新絕對值得您一探究竟。

*請注意:此功能僅提供給評等至少 4.2 顆星、英語課程至少有 25 則評分或非英語課程至少有 10 則評分的講師使用。不保證入選 Udemy Business 收藏

更佳的探索體驗

流量

市集相當於是 Udemy 的正門。多數學習者都是由此找到您到課程。有些人也在講師社群中提到,這是促進 Udemy Business 持續成長的關鍵要素,而且影響範圍不僅止於課程本身。在市集尋覓課程的學習者,在未來有機會成為商務決策者。

因此,我們的目標是持續拓展市集。和去年同期相比,目前流量增加 7%,每月平均有 3,700 萬人次的訪客,狀況良好。

我們聘請了新的客戶成長資深副總裁 Kaleb Miller。Kaleb 的一大關鍵任務將會是找出能幫助實現成長的新作法,包括藉由建立策略性合作夥伴關係,促進流量與營收長期成長,強化我們在客戶業務方面的績效。

吸引新的學習者使用 Udemy

合作夥伴關係

我們持續投資 Udemy 品牌,讓世界各地更多使用者有機會認識我們,並且接觸到您的課程內容。我們的努力也確實奏效:現在,有多達 16,000 個組織和 7,100 萬名學習者選擇透過 Udemy 習得所需技能。 

合作夥伴關係在這方面發揮極大影響力。將我們的標誌配置在 McLaren Racing 頭盔上,不僅為我們帶來觸及全球的高可見度,更公開顯示知名組織願意選擇我們做為其官方學習合作夥伴,打響我們的口碑。在不同的新場域拓展我們品牌的知名度,將能讓更多使用者前來我們網站參訪,甚至最終選擇註冊課程。在此列載一些我們在這方面的相關作為:

  • 聖荷西地震隊 (San Jose Earthquakes):我們已成為美國職業足球大聯盟聖荷西地震隊的官方學習合作夥伴。我們的品牌名稱會出現在球場內,以及訓練球衫上 (正好與我們學習公司的形象相呼應)。除了讓更多使用者和學習者接觸到我們的品牌名稱和您的內容之外,我們也會積極經營社區合作夥伴關係,協助資源相對不足的社區當中的使用者習得所需技能,在當今競爭激烈的就業市場中站穩腳步、穩健發展。
  • McLaren Racing:我們將持續深化與 McLaren 現有的合作夥伴關係。就在最近,我們在 McLaren OKX Technology Centre 舉辦了全球 PowerUp 活動。在此活動中,McLaren 員工、Udemy 領導團隊,以及一位特別來賓講師齊聚一堂,進行為期兩天的學習講座。對我們來說,合作夥伴關係的相關活動不僅只是宣傳自家品牌的機會 (當然,打知名度自然是少不了),更是我們展示教育與學習具體實踐的重要舞台。

故事

我們在前一期的講師情報站中提到,我們希望能聽聽您的故事,並透過這些故事向全世界展示學習的力量。我們仍然歡迎您與我們分享您的故事。讓我們知道您的教學歷程為不同的生命帶來了怎麼樣的漣漪,例如讓您自己有所改變、使學習者得以蛻變,甚或讓師生雙方在課程授受的過程中皆獲得新的體悟。您可以在我們的故事頁面上參考一些範例內容。 

總結

安全簡便

我們將在 6 月開始採用無密碼驗證機制,讓登入過程更簡便,也讓帳戶更安全。此機制正式採用後,您將需要驗證您的電子郵件才能存取帳戶,能有效減少對於密碼的依賴性。在推行初期,系統可能會將您切換至新的無密碼驗證機制,或讓您繼續使用現有的多重要素驗證 (MFA) 程序。在未來,我們預計將完全轉換至無密碼驗證機制,屆時將不需再使用密碼和 MFA。

全球更新

我們在全球各處推出變更,讓更多不同地區的學習者有機會接觸到您的課程。

  • 墨西哥 OxxO 付款方式:此熱門的付款方式可幫助學習者使用現金結帳。我們也正積極研討適用於其他拉丁美洲國家的替代付款選項。
  • 日本 Team 方案:Team 方案現在名符其實地向全球開放,而我們也很高興看到大量的新訂閱人口由世界各地紛杳而至。

攜手共榮

講師社群的所有成員們持續驅動著我們成長改善。您的問題、想法和互動讓我們能深入瞭解您作業的實際情況,以及所遭遇到的各種挑戰。社群規模現已相當龐大,而目前使用的平台不足以支援此規模,因此我們預定在近期遷移至新的社群平台。

在此期間,請持續發布分享內容,若有任何問題也歡迎隨時提出。社群持續蓬勃熱絡,而我們也排定了許多咖啡閒聊、放膽來問 (AMA) 以及其他社群活動

未來展望

我們最近翻新了我們的公司願景,呼應我們的新標語:無窮機會,無窮力量。最根本而言,Udemy 的核心精神可以從這個角度來理解:

我們的願景是實現一個人人皆可接觸所需技能、從而發揮潛能的世界,在這個世界裡,大家可為自己和他人創造各種機會。

無論是透過宣傳活動與廣告吸引更多學習者,或是為資源相對匱乏的社區提供學習機會,我們持續致力於實現此願景,並努力透過學習改善人們的生活。

我們衷心盼望,我們迄今為止及未來的各項舉措能幫助您更容易執行自己的任務,並且從中獲得更大的成就感。我們的使命是「透過學習改善生活」,而這當然也包括您自己的生活。 

 

 

準備好建立課程了嗎?開始吧!

建立課程

The June 2024 Instructor Insider

Español | Deutsch | 日本語  Français | Italiano | Türkçe | Polski | Português | 한국어中文(繁體) |Tiếng ViệtBahasa Indonesia |

Your June Instructor Insider is here, and we have some good news in store: New features have launched, more opportunities for the marketplace and subscriptions await, and we have a special callout for your inspiring stories. There are also some challenges too, and we’re working hard to address them.

All this is super important as we work towards our larger goal of being the #1 place for individuals and organizations to bridge skills gaps in a skills-based economy.

We’ve organized this edition of the Insider into three main sections based on our priorities for you:

  • Making it easier for you to create content, so you can do what you do best.
  • Building better discovery and engagement for learners, so they can find your courses and increase engagement
  • Attracting new learners to Udemy

But first, we know we’ve talked a lot about AI recently, and we know that recent advancements have created a lot of change in the world. Yet our commitment to helping you share your knowledge remains the same. And so we’ve established a set of principles on AI to help guide us as we make decisions on what and how we build and to address the questions and concerns we’ve heard directly from you, our instructor community. We’ve created our principles around the key ideas of giving you choice, protecting your intellectual property, using AI in service of our mission, and making sure we all benefit from what GenAI can offer. Want to know more? Read our full statement of AI principles.

Easier content creation

Promotional emails & course announcements

If you’re sending promotional emails and course announcements, you can now see the click-through rates for each one. This can help you fine-tune your messaging and see what’s working best. Go take a look on your Dashboard to see it in action.

Text-to-speech courses

There are a lot of good reasons for allowing courses that use text-to-speech to deliver lectures, such as clarity, localization, and accessibility. After hearing so many requests from so many of you and seeing the advancements in technology, we’re now allowing text-to-speech lectures. Of course, courses must still meet quality guidelines. There’s more discussion about text-to-speech in the community.

Course setup lecture

We now have the option of a course setup lecture to outline any necessary resources for your course. These setup lectures need to be free of promotional language, but it means learners can more easily get any discounts on course-essential tools right up front. 

Interactive learning

Practice tests are well-liked by learners who’re preparing for certification. These comprehensive, timed assessments help them make sure they’re ready for their exams. So recently, we launched a new creation experience for practice tests which has a host of new features. There’s a new question type and GenAI-assisted explanations for English-language development topics. We also have a new guide for creating practice tests.

We have our first insights for practice tests, which you can see in your Course Engagement Dashboard. We’re continuing to make overall improvements to expand practice test insights and engagement. 

This work goes hand-in-hand with our recent work on the coding exercise experience. By the way, if you teach Kotlin or C++20, you’ll be glad to see they’re now supported.

Udemy Business content opportunities

Our look into in-demand content for Udemy Business* was refreshed in April. Udemy Business content opportunities works a lot like Marketplace Insights, but is geared towards helping you find in-demand topics for new Udemy Business courses. So if you’re looking to create additional Udemy Business courses (or even your first), you’ll want to have a look at the update.

*Note: Available to instructors with 4.2 star rating and 25+ ratings for English or 10+ for non-English courses. Curation into Udemy Business is not guaranteed.

Better discovery

Traffic

The marketplace is the front door of Udemy. It’s how so many learners find their way to your courses. And, some of you have pointed out in the instructor community, it’s what feeds Udemy Business, and not just in terms of courses. A learner in the marketplace today can become a decision maker at a business tomorrow.

So our goal is to keep growing the marketplace. Traffic is up 7% year over year to an average of 37M monthly visitors, and that’s a good sign.

We’ve hired a new senior vice president of consumer growth, Kaleb Miller. One of the key focuses of Kaleb’s role will be identifying new avenues for growth, including forging strategic partnerships that will enhance our consumer business’ success by driving additional traffic and revenue to the marketplace over time.

Attracting new learners to Udemy

Partnerships

We’re continuing to invest in the Udemy brand to make us — and your content — known around the world. And it’s working: We now have 16,000 organizations and 71 million learners that trust Udemy to help them gain the skills they need. 

Partnerships are a big part of that. Having our logo on the McLaren Racing helmet gives us worldwide visibility, and instills a confidence that a major organization has chosen us as their official learning partner. Getting our name into new places, brings in more site visitors and potential enrollments. Here are some updates on how we’re doing that:

  • The San Jose Earthquakes: We’ve become the official learning partner for the San Jose Earthquakes, one of Major League Soccer’s original teams. We’ll be featured in the stadium and (appropriate for a learning company) on the training jerseys. In addition to getting our name and your content in front of more people and learners, we’ll be engaging in community partnerships to help those in underserved communities develop the skills they need to thrive in today’s hyper-competitive job market.
  • McLaren Racing: We’re continuing to deepen our partnership with McLaren. We recently held a Global PowerUp at the McLaren OKX Technology Centre. This brought together McLaren employees, Udemy leadership, and a special guest instructor for two days of learning. It’s important to us in all our partnerships that we’re not just having our logo displayed (though we like that), but we’re embodying our ethos of teaching and learning.

Stories

We mentioned in the last Insider that we want your stories so we can show the power of learning to the world. That call is still open. So, tell us how your teaching has changed lives — whether it’s yours, someone else’s, or both. You can see some examples on our Stories page

Wrapping up

Security and simplicity

We are introducing passwordless authentication beginning in June to make logging in easier and accounts safer. It reduces our dependence on passwords by requiring you to verify your email before accessing your account. During the rollout, you will either experience the new passwordless approach or continue with the existing password and multi-factor authentication (MFA) process. Over time, we will fully transition to the passwordless method, eliminating the need for passwords and MFA.

Global updates

We’ve made changes across the globe to get your courses in front of more learners in more places:

  • OxxO payments for Mexico: This popular form of payment will help learners checkout using cash. We’re looking into other payment options for other countries in Latin America too.
  • Team Plan in Japan: Team Plan is now truly global, and we’re excited to have subscriptions rolled out everywhere.

Coming together

The instructor communities continue to inspire us. Your questions, thoughts, and interactions give us insights into how you work and what your challenges are. We’ve found we’ve outgrown the platform we’ve been using, so we’ll be moving to a brand new community platform soon.

In the meantime, keep posting and keep asking questions. The community is not slowing down, and we have plenty of upcoming coffee chats, AMAs (Ask Me Anything), and other community events.

Looking ahead

Recently we revamped our company vision to bring it in line with our new tagline: The power of possibilities. This is Udemy as simply as we could put it:

Our vision is a world where everyone, everywhere has access to the skills they need to unlock their potential — a world where they can create possibilities for themselves and for others.

Whether it’s bringing in more learners through our promos and advertising or extending learning to underserved communities, we are committed to making this vision a reality and fulfilling our mission to improve lives through learning.

We hope the work we’ve done, and continue to do, helps to make what you do easier and more fulfilling. After all, improving lives through learning includes yours too. 

 

 

 

 

Ready to create your course? Let's go!

Create a Course