Optimierung unserer Kategoriestruktur

Bei Udemy werden inzwischen mehr als 130.000 Kurse in über 60 Sprachen zu einer Riesenauswahl von Themen angeboten. Bei dieser Themenvielfalt, die zudem ständig ausgebaut wird, ist eine klare und nachvollziehbare Struktur und Navigation natürlich extrem wichtig, damit auch wirklich alle auf Anhieb finden, was sie suchen.

Wir werden daher demnächst Verbesserungen an der Struktur unserer Kategorien und Unterkategorien vornehmen. So können wir unsere Empfehlungen optimieren und die Teilnehmer können die gesuchten Themen und Inhalte leichter finden. Die Änderungen erfolgen automatisch, du brauchst dich also um nichts zu kümmern. Wenn sich die Kategorie- oder Unterkategorie deines Kurses bzw. deiner Kurse ändert, teilen wir dir das mit.

Warum werden die Kategorien geändert?

Wir haben von Dozenten und Teilnehmer immer wieder gehört, dass die derzeitige Einordnung der Kurse in unsere Kategorien und Unterkategorien teilweise etwas verwirrend ist. So enthält beispielsweise die Kategorie „Design“ Tutorials für technische Software, aber auch Zeichenkurse und Fashion-Guides. Andererseits sind Machine-Learning-Kurse sowohl in der Unterkategorie „Daten & Analyse“ als auch in „Mathematik & Naturwissenschaften“ zu finden.

Außerdem haben Dozenten manchmal Schwierigkeiten, die passende Klassifizierung auswählen, wenn keine der vorhandenen Auswahlmöglichkeiten dem unterrichteten Thema voll und ganz entspricht.

Wir haben im Laufe des Jahres die mehr als 130.000 auf Udemy angebotenen Kurse und ihre Beziehungen untereinander genau untersucht. Auf der Grundlage dieser umfangreichen Daten und Ergebnisse werden wir die Kategorisierung unserer Kurse nun optimieren. Die Bezeichnungen der Kategorien und Unterkategorien werden ab Dezember 2018 geändert.

Hinweise zum Ablauf

Wenn sich die Kategorie- oder Unterkategorie deines Kurses bzw. deiner Kurse ändert, teilen wir dir dies mit. Falls du Vorschläge oder Feedback zu der geänderten Kategorisierung in deinem Fachgebiet hast, freuen wir uns über deine Nachricht an taxonomy@udemy.com. Du kannst außerdem jederzeit eine Änderung deiner Kategorie, Unterkategorie oder deines Hauptthema per E-Mail an instructorsupport@udemy.com anfordern.

Die optimale Kategorisierung deiner Kurse sorgt dafür, dass Interessenten und Teilnehmer deine Kurse schnell und direkt finden und hilft uns außerdem dabei, ihnen noch gezielter passende Kurse zu empfehlen. Wir freuen uns, die ständig steigende Anzahl von Teilnehmern, Kursen, Sprachen und Themen bei Udemy jetzt noch besser unterstützen zu können!


Änderungen 

November 2019

Das hat sich geändert: Die Kategorie „Programmierung“ enthält jetzt eine neue Unterkategorie „Data Science“.

Der Grund: Kurse zum Thema „Daten & Analyse“ waren bisher in der Kategorie „Business“ zu finden. Laut Expertenmeinungen und unseren eigenen Teilnehmerdaten haben viele dieser Kurse aber einen stärkeren Bezug zum Programmierungs- als zum Business-Bereich. Daher haben wir für Kurse, die sich mit datenbezogener Programmierung (z. B. Python, R und Machine Learning) befassen, jetzt eine neue Kategorie unter „Programmierung“ eingerichtet. Kurse, die sich mit datenbezogenen Business-Skills (z. B. Datenanalyse und -visualisierung) befassen, bleiben wie bisher in der Kategorie „Business“.

Wir gehen davon aus, dass die Anzahl der Kurse, Themen und Teilnehmer, die sich mit Daten befassen, weiterhin ansteigen wird. Wenn der Trend anhält, werden wir die Kategorien weiter anpassen, damit die Teilnehmer leichter die passenden Datenkurse und Dozenten, die ihr Wunschthema anbieten, finden können.

 

Mai 2019

Das hat sich geändert: Wir haben die neue Kategorie “Finanzen & Rechnungswesen“ eingeführt.

Der Grund: „Business“ ist die zweitgrößte Kategorie bei Udemy. Sie umfasst eine breite Auswahl von Themenbereichen, die nicht unbedingt etwas miteinander zu haben, wie z. B. Kommunikation, Selbstständigkeit und Personalwesen. Außerdem waren Themen, die miteinander zusammenhängen, wie z. B. Persönliche Finanzen und Geld-Management-Tools, auf die Kategorien Business und Persönliche Entwicklung verteilt. Dies ist für die Teilnehmer verwirrend und erschwert es uns, sie der Auswahl eines passenden Kurses zu unterstützen. Dank der neuen Kategorie „Finanzen & Rechnungswesen“ können wir die Kategorie „Business“ jetzt in sinnvolle Gruppen aufteilen und haben eine passende Kategorie für alle auf Geld bezogenen Unterthemen.

Dezember 2018

Das hat sich geändert: Die Kategorien „Wissenschaften“, „Sprache“, „Prüfungsvorbereitung“ und „Lehrausbildung“ wurden in der übergreifenden Kategorie „Wissenschaft & Lehre“ zusammengefasst.

Der Grund: Diese Themen waren als Einzelkategorien nicht umfangreich und differenziert genug für sinnvolle Unterkategorien. Für fast ein Drittel der in diese Kategorien einsortierten Kurse war als Unterkategorie „Sonstiges“ angegeben. Außerdem stimmten die Unterkategorien für „Sprache“ weitgehend mit den Themen unter „Sprache“ überein, was sich negativ auf unsere Empfehlungen und SEO auswirkte. Durch die neue übergreifende Kategorie für die Themen, die traditionell in der Schule und/oder Uni gelehrt werden, können wir die doppelten Einträge in den Sprachthemen eliminieren und zudem die Empfehlungen und Suchergebnisse verbessern.

 

Bist du startklar zur Erstellung deines Kurses? Na dann los!

Einen Kurs erstellen
Simple light-blue outline icon of a tool inside system window

Hilfe und Support

Hier wird einfach jede Frage beantwortet, vom Hochladen eines Kurses bis zur Erstellung von Gutscheinen.
Simple red outline icon of silhoutte of two people

Dozenten-Community

Melde dich bei unserer internationalen Dozenten-Community an, die immer einen guten Rat oder eine clevere Idee für dich auf Lager hat.
Simple orange outline icon of a roman pillar strcuture representing foundational support

Trust & Safety

Hier findest Infos zu den Regeln und Richtlinien, die unsere Community zu einem fairen und sicheren Ort machen.

Announcing Taxonomy Improvements

Today, Udemy supports over 130,000 courses in more than 60 languages on a huge variety of subjects. With that diversity of content growing every day, it’s more important than ever that we organize all that great content in a way that helps us get your courses in front of the right students.

To strengthen our recommendations and make it easier for students to find the content they’re looking for, we make periodic improvements to our category and subcategory definitions. Below, we provide a summary of all updates to Udemy’s taxonomy since we first began improving it in 2018.


How the changes work

If your course category or subcategory changes, you’ll get a notification letting you know we’ve updated these designations for you. Changes will apply automatically, so there’s no need for you to take any action as an instructor. If you have suggestions or feedback regarding updated taxonomy in your area of expertise, you can write to taxonomy@udemy.com. Additionally, you can always request a change to your category, subcategory, or primary topics by writing to instructorsupport@udemy.com.

What we’ve updated

October 2020

New Subcategories:

What’s changing: We’re introducing two new subcategories: “No-Code Development” within the Development category, and “Esoteric Practices” within the Lifestyle category.

Why it’s changing: As we examined patterns in course creation and student browsing behavior, we saw an opportunity to better group and label similar courses. In Development, we saw a growing number of courses that focused on using “builders” rather than coding to create websites and apps. In Lifestyle, we saw similar student profiles engaging with content like Reiki, Hypnosis, and Astrology, but these topics were scattered unpredictably across multiple subcategories. We’re establishing new subcategories to improve the findability of all these courses.

Migrated Subcategories

What’s changing: We’re moving one subcategory, “E-commerce,” from the Development category to the Business category.

Why it’s changing: The E-commerce category within Development contains a mix of courses that serve very different learning needs. Some focus on coding for e-commerce, while others focus on e-commerce strategy or operations. Establishing the E-commerce subcategory within the Business category will give a clearer, more intuitive home to courses on topics like dropshipping. Current E-commerce courses that do focus on development will have a home in the Web Development subcategory.

Removed Subcategories

What’s changing: We’re removing the “Finance” and “Personal Finance” subcategories within Business and Personal Development, respectively. We’re also removing the “Home Business” subcategory within Business.

Why it’s changing: After the introduction of the “Finance and Accounting” category in 2019, the existing “Finance” and “Personal Finance” subcategories were preserved in both their old and new homes to ensure a smooth transition. Now that Finance and Accounting is firmly established as a category, we’re completing the move for these courses.

As for Home Business, courses within this subcategory are only loosely related to one another, and many have clearer homes in E-commerce or Entrepreneurship. To ensure our subcategories truly group similar courses, we’re retiring this subcategory and ensuring courses within it are reassigned to a more meaningful one.

Renamed Categories and Subcategories

What’s changing: We’re renaming one category and multiple subcategories. Changes include…

  • Relabeling the “Photography” category to “Photography & Video”
  • Relabeling the “Mobile Apps” subcategory within Development to “Mobile Development”
  • Many small clarity edits

Why it’s changing: After reviewing feedback from students and instructors and examining the content of these subcategories, we identified opportunities to increase the clarity of our taxonomic labels. While these changes are cosmetic, we expect them to help students better understand the types of courses they can expect to find in each category and subcategory.


November 2019

What’s changing: We’re introducing a new subcategory, “Data Science,” to the Development category.

Why it’s changing: To date, Data & Analytics courses have been included within the Business category. However, industry knowledge and our own student data indicate that many of these courses are more strongly related to Development than to Business. So, we’re breaking out courses focused on Data-related programming (e.g. Python, R and Machine Learning) into a new subcategory within Development. Courses focused on Data-related business skills in Business (e.g. Data Analysis and Data Visualization) will stay in Business.

We expect that the number of Data-related courses, students, and topics will continue to grow. As it does, we’ll make further taxonomy adjustments to ensure we’re helping students find the data-related content they’re looking for, and instructors can be easily found by the right students.



May 2019

What’s changing: We’re introducing a new category, “Finance & Accounting.”

Why it’s changing: “Business” is the second-largest category on Udemy. It has a huge range of student interests that aren’t all strongly related to one another — topics like Communications, Home Business, and Human Resources. Furthermore, topics that are more closely related, like Personal Finance and Money Management Tools, have been split between the Business and Personal Development categories. This makes it hard for us to help students find the right course. So by adding the new “Finance & Accounting” category, we’re breaking out the Business category into more relevant groups and creating one home for money-focused subcategories.



December 2018

What’s changing:
“Academics,” “Language,” “Test Prep” and “Teacher Training” categories will all be consolidated into one “Teaching & Academics” category.

Why it’s changing: As standalone categories, these subject areas aren’t sufficiently differentiated to support meaningful subcategories — nearly a third of these courses list “Other” as their subcategory. Furthermore, Language subcategories are largely redundant to Language topics, which has negative implications both for recommendations and SEO. Creating one larger category for topics traditionally taught in a classroom setting lets us reduce that redundancy and strengthen our search and recommendations.

Ready to create your course? Let's go!

Create a Course
Simple light-blue outline icon of a tool inside system window

Help and Support

Learn everything from uploading courses to creating coupons.
Simple red outline icon of silhoutte of two people

Instructor Community

Join our global instructor community for help and ideas.
Simple orange outline icon of a roman pillar strcuture representing foundational support

Trust and safety

Learn about the policies that keep our community safe.