2024 年 2 月講師情報站

感謝您參加 2024 年的第一個講師情報站。我們知道,許多講師都希望能有更多接觸學習者並與他們互動的管道,當然,各位也希望能將自己的收入潛能發揮到極致。我們聽到您的心聲了。所以,本次的情報站內容將著重於:

您的內容 – 讓您更輕鬆地一展長才:為學習者打造精采絕倫的內容。 

您 (與我們) 的品牌 – 授課之處也是關鍵之一,因此我們持續不懈地建立信賴感和品牌認知度,讓新手和現有的學習者都能更認識也更相信我們。

您的營收 – 一直以來,我們不斷強化各方面,好讓技能導向型學習者能夠發現並參與您的課程,吸引他們持續回歸。

請繼續閱讀,瞭解我們如何實現目標。

功能與工具

互動:

問與答 – 學習者喜歡也依賴問與答,但我們知道,這對您來說可能費時又有壓力。我們在 12 月公告了生成式 AI 問與答測試版。此功能會運用您的課程內容 (並且只有您的 課程內容) 來協助回答常見問題。您也可以在生成式 AI 的協助下撰寫回應草稿,如此一來,您只需專心回答問題 (而不是文法)。您還可以在發布前檢查和自訂回應。我們正在依照領域和語言逐步推出此功能,所以,您或許尚未看過。再過不久,您就能在體驗問與答時看到此功能了。

練習測驗 – 我們很高興宣布,在修復部分錯誤後,您即將享有改善後的全新體驗。不僅有全新的建立體驗,還有填空題。此外,AI 也為英語的開發與 IT 認證課程帶來更多助力,這些課程中的互動活動現在加入了自動生成的說明。除了這些改善項目之外,我們還計畫建立新的練習測驗分析報告,讓您能根據學習者的參與度進行變更。因為學習者通常會選擇包含測驗的課程,我們也會加入新方法來突顯隨附練習測驗的課程。

為訂閱者打造的學習者配對與探索 – 在技能要求不斷改變的世界中,專業人士必須跟上最新潮流。透過下半年登場的兩項工具,我們將運用 AI 協助訂閱學習者更快找出適合自己的內容。 

還有更多即將推出的新功能。我們也在努力改善 Udemy Business 推薦內容、實驗室等許多項目。 

您會發現,許多改善之處都是以生成式 AI 為基礎。我們致力於運用生成式 AI 來協助您與學習者從我們的平台得到更多收穫。但一如既往,您的專業知識才是這一切的核心。學習者讚賞的是您的熱情、動力、技能和經驗。隨著生成式 AI 的演進,我們的努力和策略也不斷進化,但我們的目標是讓生成式 AI 成為您的助力。 

行銷策略

無論是市場、個人方案或 Udemy Business,我們在行銷策略上持續不斷地投資,只為提供更多管道讓學習者體驗您的內容。去年,我們的投資獲得可觀的回報:有 1 千萬名新學習者加入 Udemy、新增超過 1,800 個企業客戶,年末時個人學習者與企業客戶的數量分別為 6,900 萬人與 15,726 家企業。

為了維護 Udemy 整體生態系統的健全,我們持續投資市場以及提升訂閱量。世界各地的組織越來越瞭解技能型經濟有何價值,因此需要可擴充規模的解決方案。訂閱不僅對學習者和組織有益,也能為我們的課程講師帶來經常性營收。我們的個人方案訂閱者人數已超過 100,000 人。與去年同期相較,Udemy Business 的營收增加了 27%。

我們正在將個人方案推向更多國家/地區以涵蓋 50 個市場。接下來的數週之內,法國、波蘭、土耳其和義大利都會推出個人方案,為您的課程帶來更多潛在機會。

活動與計畫

讓 Udemy 的定位成為技能型經濟的全球領導者是我們的優先要務。我們的行銷能減輕您的壓力,讓您能專心為我們不斷成長的學習者社群創作內容。我們的行銷長 Genefa Murphy 在社群貼文中概述了我們所做的努力,值得您一讀。

整體而言,我們會在今年加強生成式 AI、領導力與管理、多世代員工,以及領導卓越等關鍵主題。您將會看到各式各樣的全球與本地活動,以及我們和 Docker、AWS、與 McLaren Racing 等合作夥伴深化關係。 我們也在不久之前宣佈與 ServiceNow 建立重要合作關係,將我們強大的 75 門技能課程放到他們的 Now Platform。

技能回顧 – 2023 年 12 月,我們推出了技能回顧,這是關於 Udemy Business、個人方案以及市場中的學習者們,在 Udemy 上學習動態的年終總結。我們希望提醒學習者從學習中獲得的價值,也希望他們能繼續參與,並且分享他們的成功。

更新定價策略與政策

稅務表單政策要求

首先,這是稅務表單政策要求的溫馨提醒。無論您是否居住於美國,都需要提交稅務表單才能收到付款。

定價策略

去年我們的重點在於為學習者區分及建立課程價值,同時為您提升定價系統的透明度。我們會以此為基礎,持續調整市場定價,從而準確反映課程價值。其中包括依照特定地區的經濟趨勢調整價格,以及針對認證考取準備課程和其他 UB 課程目錄內容預計推出的產品更新來微調定價。在 二月定價更新中,我們會提供更多資訊供您參考。

故事 

我們邀請您看看持續成長的全新故事頁面,感受像您一樣的講師所提供的課程帶來了哪些影響。您可以一睹世界各地的講師與學習者如何改變自己和他人的生活。我們最近發表了 Angela Yu 與 Alvin Lim 的故事,但還有更多精彩故事等您探索,像是 Diego Davila 與帶領亞馬遜雨林護林員的學習者 JJ 之間的關係。這樣的故事讓人們清楚地看見線上學習能夠建立的關係,以及您所做的事有何價值。您有想說的故事嗎?請到故事頁面告訴我們。

說到人與人之間的關係,我們最近與行銷長 Genefa Murphy 在社群中一起完成了「放膽來問」活動。如果您錯過了,可以在此閱讀她的「放膽來問」。為避免您錯過日後的活動,您可以在社群中看看接下來的活動 (像是三月的西班牙社群新手集訓)。 

如同往常一樣,還有更多精彩活動等著您。但我們希望您喜歡我們迄今所做的一切、對未來充滿期待,並對學習帶來的可能性保持熱情。

繼續教學吧! 

Udemy 講師團隊

準備好建立課程了嗎?開始吧!

建立課程

The February 2024 Instructor Insider

Thank you for joining us for the first Instructor Insider of 2024. Many of you have told us you want more ways to reach and engage learners — and maximize your earnings potential. And we’ve heard you. So this Insider we’re focusing on:

Your content – We want to make it easier for you to do what you do best: create fantastic content for learners. 

Your brand (and ours) – Where you teach is important, so we’re working hard on building trust and name recognition for new and existing learners.

Your revenue – We’re making enhancements that will help skill-oriented learners discover and engage with your courses (so they keep coming back).

Read on for more of how we’re doing it.

Features and tools

Engagement:

Q&A – Learners love and rely on Q&A, but we know it can also be time consuming and stressful for you. In December, we announced a beta of our Gen AI-powered Q&A. It uses your course content (and only your course content) to help answer those frequently asked questions. It also lets you draft responses with GenAI assistance, so you can focus on answering the question (and not on the grammar). Then you can check and customize your response before publishing it. We’re rolling out this feature slowly based on domain and language — so you may not see it just yet. You should be seeing it in your Q&A experience before too long.

Practice tests – After working through some bugs, we’re happy to announce that an improved experience will be coming to you very soon. There will be a new creation experience and fill-in-the-blank questions. Plus, these interactive activities are also getting an AI bump with auto-generated explanations for English-language Development and IT Certification courses. Beyond these improvements, we are planning to create a new practice test insights report so you can make changes based on learner engagement. And we’re looking to add a way to highlight courses with practice tests, since learners often choose courses with tests.

Learner matching & discovery for subscriptions – In a world where skills requirements are constantly changing, professionals need to keep up with the latest. We’ll be using AI to help subscription learners find the right content faster with two tools we’ll introduce in the latter half of this year. 

There’s more coming as well. We are working on improvements to Udemy Business Content Opportunities, labs, and more. 

You’ll notice that many of these improvements are based on generative AI. We’re committed to using GenAI to help you and your learners get more from our platform. But, as always, it’s your expertise which is at the heart of what we do. It’s your passion, drive, skills, and experience that learners appreciate. As GenAI continues to evolve, so do our efforts and strategies, but it’s our intention to make GenAI work for you. 

Marketing strategy

We’ve been investing in marketing strategies that support the range of ways learners experience your content, including the marketplace, Personal Plan, and Udemy Business. And last year, it really paid off: 10 million new learners came to Udemy and more than 1,800 net new enterprise customers were added, ending the year at 69 million and 15,726 respectively.

To keep the entire Udemy ecosystem healthy, we’re continuing to invest in the marketplace, while we also grow subscriptions. As organizations around the world start to see the value in a skills-based economy, they need a scalable solution. And subscriptions are not just good for learners and organizations, but as generators of recurring revenue for those with courses in our collections. We’ve surpassed 100,000 subscriptions for Personal Plan, our individual subscription offering. And Udemy Business revenue is up 27% year over year.

We’re expanding Personal Plan into more countries to reach 50 markets. In just the next few weeks it will be in France, Poland, Turkey, and Italy — opening up more potential opportunities for your courses.

Campaigns and initiatives

Positioning Udemy as a global leader in the skills-based economy is a big priority. When we do that marketing, it takes the pressure off you, so that you can create content for our growing community of learners. Genefa Murphy, our Chief Marketing Officer, outlined our efforts in a community post that’s worth a read.

Overall, this year we’ll be reinforcing our key themes of Gen AI, leadership & management, the multi-generational workforce, and leadership excellence. You’ll see global and local campaigns and deepening relationships with partners like Docker, AWS, and McLaren Racing. We’ve also just announced a major partnership with ServiceNow, putting 75 of our power skills courses into their Now Platform.

Skills Rewind – In December 2023 we launched the Skills Rewind — a year-end summary of how learners across Udemy Business, Personal Plan, and the marketplace have spent their time with Udemy. We want learners to be reminded of the value they get from learning, and we want to keep them engaged and sharing their successes.

Updated Pricing Strategies and Policies

Tax Form Policy Requirement

First, this is your gentle reminder about our tax form requirement policy. Whether you’re based in the US or not you need to submit tax forms to receive payout.

Pricing strategy

Last year, we focused on differentiating and establishing course value for learners, while increasing our pricing transparency with you. Building on this work, we will continue refining marketplace pricing to accurately reflect the value of courses. This includes adjusting for location-specific economic trends and aligning pricing with planned product improvements on certification prep courses and other UB catalog content. We have more information in our February pricing update.

Stories 

To really see where courses like yours are making a difference, we invite you to look at our new (and growing) Stories page. You can get a glimpse at how instructors and learners from around the world are transforming their own lives and the lives of others. We just recently showcased the story of Angela Yu and Alvin Lim, but there are many more stories, like the one about Diego Davila connecting with his learner JJ who leads a group of rangers in the Amazon rain forest. Stories like this remind people of the connections that online learning can make — and the value of what you do. Have a story you want to tell? You can submit it on the Stories page.

And speaking of connections, we recently completed an “ask me anything” with our CMO, Genefa Murphy in the community. You can read her AMA if you missed it. To make sure you don’t miss out on future events, you can take a look at what’s coming next in the community (like the Bootcamp in the Spanish community, in March). 

As always there’s lots more to come. But we hope you are excited by what we’ve done, what’s coming up, and what’s possible with learning.

Teach on, 

The Udemy Instructor Team

Ready to create your course? Let's go!

Create a Course